CodeCharge Studio
search Register Login  

Visual PHP Web Development

Visually Create Internationalized Web Applications, Web Reports, Calendars, and more.
CodeCharge.com

YesSoftware Forums -> CodeCharge Studio -> Java

how to set the classpaths in environmetal variables

Print topic Send  topic

zeeshan

Posted: 11/16/2007, 10:11 AM

hi,
I am new to java and I just installed jdk1.5. my programs were compiled but not executing. can any one help me to overcome this problem. while executing its showing a message like " out of bound exception"
can any one tell in detail how to set path and classpath in detail.
thanks
View profile  Send private message
andrewi

Posted: 11/16/2007, 2:11 PM

I'm also new to Java, and I second your request.

I've just got some pages to execute - I found that it wouldn't even build without the correct paths and classpath set. In case it helps, this is my setup.

WinXP JDK 1.5.0_06
Tomcat 4.1 (installed to default locations),
latest Ant (no installer, just unzipped to C:\Ant).

I used Tomcat 4.1 because this version had a servlet.jar. I couldn't find the jar in later versions, and CC needs it. (I don't have a clue what any of these things are!)

These are the CC settings I have:
(in Options->Paths)
JAVA SDK Home: C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.5.0_06
JAVVA Ant Home: C:\ant\

(in Site settings)
Class Path: C:\Program Files\Apache Software Foundation\Tomcat 4.1\common\lib\servlet.jar

Code Language: JSP 1.1 JDK 1.3
Target JDK: JDK 1.3 and 1.5 both worked (online help for this not working?)
Target Server: Tomcat 4
Manager URL: http://localhost:8080/manager
Manager login and pwd: as set during Tomcat install.
RegExpAPI: JDK1.4

All other project settings blank. This worked, using an Access database, on Tomcat running on the local machine. I tried both war-file and unpacked deployment methods; both worked.