CodeCharge Studio
search Register Login  

Visual PHP Web Development

Visually Create Internationalized Web Applications, Web Reports, Calendars, and more.
CodeCharge.com

YesSoftware Forums -> CodeCharge Studio -> General/Other

Comparisons in Search forms (newbie question)

Print topic Send  topic

markB

Posted: 11/14/2007, 2:36 PM

I'm new to CodeCharge Studio. I downloaded the demo version and I'm learning CCS and trying to figure out if it's the best choice for me.

I already made some test applications and discovered many great features I really like. Nevertheless I'm stuck on something.

I can't find (maybe I missed it) how to include comparisons in a search form, to allow the user to, for example, find the records where <such field> is higher than a value he specifies, or is lesser than or equal to a value he specifies, etc. Basically the user can pick up a comparison sign/expression.

This is a feature available in several other programs so I assume CCS offers it too.

Examples:

Where is the option to set that?
View profile  Send private message
wkempees

Posted: 11/15/2007, 3:45 AM

CCS will generate advanced applications from the defenitions you supply.
Search functionality has a few options in the builders (wizzard) such as single entry field combined searches.
However the search you require is not a standard builder option.
the way to go about this is after generating the most extensive basic search/result grid and enhance that, by chaging/expanding the search form and the grids datasource.

Any RAD tool wil reach a certain percentage of completeness, it is the tools offered to expand on generated code that define usability of the tool.
CCS offers builders to build 80pct in 20pct of the time but also has enough tooling to help you complete the rest 20pct fast.
Requirments are basic or good Sql and programming language knowledge (as well as a good search engine)

Walter

if you liked this info PAYPAL me: http://donate.consultair.eu
markB