CodeCharge Studio
search Register Login  

Web Reports

Visually create Web Reports in PHP, ASP, .NET, Java, Perl and ColdFusion.
CodeCharge.com

YesSoftware Forums -> CodeCharge Studio -> General/Other

[SOLVED] Merging multiple fields?

Print topic Send  topic

Shin

Posted: 04/27/2015, 4:27 AM

Hi
I am still new to CodeCharge and I would like to get an advice about this issue.

I use Access database with ASP and there are 19 fields that contains name. I would like to display with divider after searching by keyword. My problem is not all the time those 19 fields have name, sometimes only 1 field, sometimes 2 or 3 fields.

If I put fields and text divider (for example '|' ) on CodeCharge, it would display like below;

Name A | Name B | | | | | |

Thats because there are only two name on the record. I tried to merge the field by SQL however Access has limitation of 255 bytes and cut the name in a middle if there are many name on particular record.

I would like to display all existing name on a record without unnecessary text divider.

I would really appreciate if someone can advise me to archive this.

Shin
View profile  Send private message
eratech

Posted: 04/27/2015, 8:18 PM

Shin,

A couple of suggestions:

- you could add a Before Show action/code to the output label and replace all the extra " | |" characters
- concatenate the names in SQL (which should return any length result) and replace the " | |" in SQL
- use a SQL Case or IIF to return the name if it's not blank, otherwise return a blank string ("") or null (not sure if Access has CASE but from memory it has Immediate IF (IIF())
- does Access have ISNULL to check for null and only return a value if not null

Let me know how you go

Eric

Shin

Posted: 04/27/2015, 8:48 PM

Quote eratech:
Shin,

A couple of suggestions:

- you could add a Before Show action/code to the output label and replace all the extra " | |" characters