CodeCharge Studio
search Register Login  

Web Reports

Visually create Web Reports in PHP, ASP, .NET, Java, Perl and ColdFusion.
CodeCharge.com

YesSoftware Forums -> CodeCharge Studio -> .NET

how to call a custom function from a different page

Print topic Send  topic

AndyGB4

Posted: 01/09/2013, 1:00 PM

Hi I'm pretty new to using .NET (C#),
and I wanted to know how I could call a function that I wrote myself from a separate page.

What I'm trying to do is run a certain function whenever a form is Inserted, Update, etc. And the function I want to run will be on a separate .cs file because I will be using it on multiple pages and don't want to rewrite it each time, or go through each page if I make a slight change.

So basically, what does C# use to "import" (?) a page, and how would I call the function from that page?

Thanks everyone!
View profile  Send private message
cvboucher

Posted: 01/10/2013, 12:41 PM

I sometimes create function libraries in Visual Studio and drop the .dll in the bin folder of the website. Then I can call these functions from any page.

HTH,
Craig
AndyGB4

Posted: 01/16/2013, 8:47 AM

Thanks, I'll try this!
AndyGB4

Posted: 01/16/2013, 9:32 AM

Hmm, ok I'm still pretty confused. Maybe I can give you a bit of on example and you can help me with the steps to make it happen?

So let's say my .dll file is called "testFunctions.dll" and it contains exactly this:

namespace testFunctions  
{  
    public class TestAddClass  
    {  
        public static long addition(long x, long y)  
        {  
            //simple function to add 2 numbers  
            return (x + y);  
        }  
    }  
}  
Does this work so far? Is that what I should have in my .dll?

Then where do I save this file in my CodeCharge project folder? You said the bin folder, but I don't see a bin folder anywhere.