CodeCharge Studio
search Register Login  

Web Reports

Visually create Web Reports in PHP, ASP, .NET, Java, Perl and ColdFusion.
CodeCharge.com

YesSoftware Forums -> CodeCharge Studio -> PHP

MYSQL Transaction Control [RESOLVED]

Print topic Send  topic

acedrummond

Posted: 12/24/2012, 11:55 AM

I have a situation where I have a table of master participant records with a participant id key (3 digits).
I also have a table of item detail records where the key is a concatenation of participant id + an incremented relative number for each item.

End result is item key is ppp###.

I keep the last relative number for each participant in the master participant record and update that number each time I insert a record into the detail item table.

The problem I've experienced is that sometimes the user gets hung up in the process (for reasons unexplained so far) and the update does not complete to the master participant record. This leaves me in a situation where that user may lose a detail record or be trying to insert a duplicate into the detail items since the master was not updated.

I've spoken to some users and it seems like their connection was lost or the local PC hung, but i can't be sure.

So I am trying to add transaction control to the application to alleviate the problem.

It appears I want to add "START TRANSACTION" and "COMMIT" statements so that if the transaction does not complete no detail records get written and no update to the master participant takes place.

So I placed BEFORE EXECUTE INSERT

$db = new clsDBConnection1();
$SQL = 'START TRANSACTION';
$db->query($SQL);

and AFTER INSERT

$db = new clsDBConnection1();
$SQL = 'COMMIT';
$db->query($SQL);

While it gives no error it does not seem to work if I place an EXIT; prior to 'COMMIT' for purposes of testing although if I try to access with phpmysql to delete the record after trying the exit it appears locked as phpmysql hangs until I reboot!