CodeCharge Studio
search Register Login  

Web Reports

Visually create Web Reports in PHP, ASP, .NET, Java, Perl and ColdFusion.
CodeCharge.com

YesSoftware Forums -> CodeCharge Studio -> PHP

Very Basic Question

Print topic Send  topic

hsan

Posted: 07/15/2011, 11:54 AM

Please excuse my ignorance, I am very new in this. I need to insert new record in the table "Models" which is linked many-to one with table "Categories". When user chooses "add new model" it should prompt him to chose "Category" (which has to be in dropdown box) first and then insert new Model. How does this work? Thanks in advance.
View profile  Send private message
tfertil

Posted: 07/15/2011, 3:06 PM

Hi hsan,

Your question gave us very limited information, so I'm guessing: this is your first web app project? Are you using CodeCharge Studio?

If so, you need to look at how other pages function. This is not a "standard desktop application" model. With CodeCharge you can create a "record page" which takes care of almost everything you need to view/edit/delete one record, including creating listboxes for fields that are external keys -keys to another tables, like you "Category" field-.

Hope this gives you some clues...

hsan

Posted: 07/15/2011, 6:00 PM

I do understand that much. I just do not know how to pull up dependencies. I have "add new model" option and I can add new models, but I can not link them to the categories (ie "chose category" then add new model for that particular category). I know this is basics, so if this is a laughing stock question just ignore it, but do not send me sarcastic comments please. Of course i am using CCS and this is my first project. Is it not obvious?
tfertil

Posted: 07/16/2011, 6:59 AM

hsan:

The comments was not sarcastic: you just didn't provide enough information to help you.

So again I'm guessing: